logo

“Ombre” chair by Charlotte Perriand

 

The “Ombre” chair was first exhibited in 1955 at the exhibition ‘Synthèse des Arts’ in Tokyo. During this exhibition, Charlotte Perriand presented a selection of her latest creations, accompanied by works by Le Corbusier and Fernand Léger. This exhibition took place in the large Takashimaya Stores, which had already hosted her first exhibition of objects and furniture in 1941: ‘Selection, Tradition, Creation’.

 

 

This “Ombre” chair was a real aesthetic achievement for the time, since it was made from a single element of wood, pre-cut in some places. By adapting to a long tradition of plywood, which is ancestral in Japan, Charlotte Perriand brought a form and a modern design that completely transforms this low chair.

 

 

Back in France, in 1956, she edited this chair in very few copies – less than 10 – with Galerie Steph Simon, who edited her furniture. The model will be made of ash wood, and not by Chetaille, but by a company specialized in plywood. The marketing will not be a great success and the edition will stop after the sale of the pieces made for the inauguration.

This piece is part of the pieces made in Japan, around 1955, with some of them recovered later by the Galerie Steph Simon.

 

 


Exhibition ’Synthèse des Arts’, Tokyo (1955)

 


Opening at the gallery Steph Simon, Paris (1956)

logo

Chaise « Ombre » de Charlotte Perriand

 

La chaise « Ombre » est pour la première fois exposée en 1955 lors de l’exposition ‘Synthèse des Arts’ à Tokyo. Charlotte Perriand y présente une sélection de ces dernières réalisations, accompagnées d’œuvres de Le Corbusier et de Fernand Léger. Cette exposition a lieu dans les grands Magasins Takashimaya, qui avaient déjà accueilli sa première exposition d’objets et de meubles en 1941 : ‘Sélection, Tradition, Création’.

 

 

Cette chaise ‘Ombre’ est une vraie prouesse esthétique pour l’époque, puisqu’elle est réalisée à partir d’un seul élément de bois, prédécoupé en certains endroits. En s’adaptant à une longue tradition du bois plié, qui est ancestrale au Japon, Charlotte Perriand apporte une forme et un dessin moderne qui transforme complètement cette chaise basse.

 

 

De retour en France, en 1956, elle édite cette chaise en très peu d’exemplaires – moins de 10 – avec la Galerie Steph Simon, qui s’occupe à cette époque de l’édition de ses meubles. Le modèle sera réalisé en frêne, non pas par Chetaille, mais par une entreprise, spécialisée dans le bois plié. La commercialisation ne sera pas un grand succès et l’édition s’arrêtera après la vente de l’ensemble des pièces réalisées pour l’inauguration.

Cette pièce fait partie des pièces réalisées au Japon, vers 1955 et qui seront en partie reprises par la Galerie Steph Simon.

 

 


Exposition ’Synthèse des Arts’, Tokyo (1955)

 


Inauguration de la galerie Steph Simon, Paris (1956)