logo

Jean Prouvé et la SCAL, Issoire (1939)

Jean Prouvé et la SCAL

 


PHOTOGRAPHIES

 


 

Jean Prouvé and the SCAL, Issoire (1939)

France was experiencing hard times; the war broke out in 1939. Industry had to be re-organized to produce armaments and, in particular, aircraft. With the government’s support, it was decided that the Société du Duralumin: the SCAL (Société central des alliages legers—the Light Alloy Company) should become involved in an extremely innovative project as a factory for laminating sheet metal.

The installation of this large industrial endeavour at Issoire had many advantages: the geographical position was strategic, bordered by the Allier, the energy potential was favourable, and in that agricultural region there was plenty of manpower.

The Perret brothers, who were architects, were accordingly appointed to build that colossal processing unit, whose structure was planned with a reinforced concrete frame.

At the end of 1939, once the project had been given the go-ahead, it turned out to be necessary to urgently produce facilities to accommodate the engineers and draughtsmen responsible for the programme to construct and develop the factory. To meet that requirement, an additional phase was embarked upon, resulting from a meeting between Jean Matter, who was appointed the SCAL’s representative administrator in November 1939, Marcel Lamourdedieu, an engineer, and Georges Blanchon, a journalist versed in the field of business and the arts. Their shared thinking was in agreement over the choice of a dedicated team to meet the constructive challenge within a short time-frame. Already linked by their architectural thinking, and by friendship, Jean Prouvé, a builder whose production workshops were in Nancy, joined forces with the architect Pierre Jeanneret, who was Le Corbusier’s cousin and righthand man, and Charlotte Perriand, who was specialized in equipment, and was a former collaborator in the Rue de Sèvres workshop.

They were all persuaded that the architectural solution resided in fast, cheap new procedures. The execution of the commission placed with the SCAL for the buildings for accommodating the staff swiftly took shape, based on the theory of a machined house (patented) designed by Jean Prouvé, and adapted for use by Pierre Jeanneret. Charlotte Perriand was involved in the designs for most of the furniture: tables, brackets and stands, seating…

On the basis of Jean Prouvé’s research into pre-fabrication, two technical solutions were used to construct the buildings.
The first system was based on an external metal frame, already devised for a competition for houses that could be dismantled for the Air Ministry (1938) and first tested at the holiday camp in Onville (1939) with the architects Jacques and Michel André. That same year a commission from the 5th and 6th army confirmed the appropriateness of the technical proposition: the outer frame formed by tapering pillars made of sheet steel was completed by steel sections which gave the whole structure its rigidity; metal sheets covered the buildings and wooden cladding panels provided the finish for the walls. A module complying with this principle was dispatched to Issoire, designed by Jeanneret, to act as a guardroom—it was eventually used as cabin for the allotments.

The second system developed a more complex structure with an axial portico placed inside the building to support the ridge beams. The model registered in February 1939 had also been envisaged in 1938. On the SCAL construction site, it was adapted and re-thought by Pierre Jeanneret in its volumes and combinations, so that it could be adapted to the requirements in question. The principle was based on a load-bearing metal structure in the shape of an “upturned V”. The building housing offices and the design workshop was developed on two levels in March 1940; the club for the engineers was put up a few months later. The three buildings for the bedrooms, as well as the infirmary and the dispensary, offered a structural variation with porticos in the shape of “upturned U’s”.

The defeat of June 1940 brought the construction site to a standstill. Charlotte Perriand was summoned to Japan on a mission, left on 15 june 1940, and did return to France until 1946. After a stay in the Pyrenees, Pierre Jeanneret met up with Georges Blanchon, who created the BCC (Bureau Central de Construction) in Grenoble, to carry on the work at Issoire. Because Nancy was in the occupied zone, Jean Prouvé had trouble meeting his engagements. There was not enough steel for the structure, so he made up for this, for subsequent orders, with walls, a load-bearing structure and porticos all made of timber (1942). The rationing restrictions and various other problems did not dim their enthusiasm or their faith in the project, and they came up with other solutions.

The Issoire project helped to confirm the suitability of the industrialization of architectural elements, and made it possible to establish the prefabrication principle, in an innovative way. The Jeanneret-Prouvé team had demonstrated the importance of a close collaboration between the architect and the builder, to develop projects that were at once practical, aesthetic, and economical. This was a brilliant premonition, on the eve of a period when the urgent need for housing had made itself cruelly felt. That avant-garde architectural gesture on the SCAL’s turf in Issoire was nevertheless enough to attract the attention of the authorities in charge of reconstruction immediately after the war ended.

That human and technical adventure remains etched as a ground-breaking step in the history of modern architecture.

Anne Bony, mars 2015.

logo

Jean Prouvé et la SCAL, Issoire (1939)

Jean Prouvé et la SCAL

 


PHOTOGRAPHIES

 


 

Jean Prouvé, Pierre Jeanneret, Charlotte Perriand
La SCAL, Issoire.

La France connait des temps difficiles, la guerre éclate en 1939. L’industrie doit se réorganiser pour produire des armes et en particulier des avions. Avec le soutien du gouvernement, il est décidé que la Société du Duralumin : la SCAL (Société centrale des alliages légers) engage un projet extrêmement novateur d’usine de laminage des tôles.

L’implantation de cette grande réalisation industrielle à Issoire présente de nombreux avantages : la situation géographique est stratégique, bordée par l’Allier les possibilités en énergie sont favorables et dans cette région agricole la main d’œuvre est abondante.

Les frères Perret architectes, sont alors désignés pour bâtir cette colossale unité de transformation, dont la structure est prévue avec une ossature en béton armé.
A la fin de l’année 1939, le projet validé, il s’avère nécessaire de produire dans l’urgence des équipements pour accueillir les ingénieurs et les dessinateurs chargés du programme de construction et de développement de l’usine. Pour répondre au besoin, une phase complémentaire est engagée, fruit d’une rencontre entre Jean Matter nommé administrateur-délégué de la SCAL en novembre 1939, Marcel Lamourdedieu ingénieur et Georges Blanchon, journaliste introduit dans le domaine des affaires et des arts. Leur réflexion commune s’accorde sur le choix d’une équipe dédiée pour résoudre dans un temps court, l’enjeu constructif. Déjà liés par la pensée architecturale et l’amitié, se trouvent réunis Jean Prouvé constructeur dont les ateliers de production sont à Nancy, Pierre Jeanneret architecte cousin et bras droit de Le Corbusier et Charlotte Perriand spécialisée dans l’équipement, ancienne collaboratrice de l’atelier de la rue de Sèvres.

Leur conviction repose sur le fait que la solution architecturale relève de nouveaux procédés économiques et rapides. La réalisation de la commande de la SCAL pour les bâtiments d’accueil du personnel se concrétise rapidement, fondée sur la théorie d’une maison usinée (brevet) de Jean Prouvé, adaptée pour l’usage par Pierre Jeanneret. Charlotte Perriand intervient pour le dessin de la plupart des meubles : tables, potences, sièges…

Sur la base des recherches de préfabrication de Jean Prouvé, deux solutions techniques sont retenues pour construire les bâtiments.
Le premier système repose sur une ossature métallique extérieure, déjà imaginée pour un concours de baraques démontables pour le ministère de l’air (1938) et expérimentée dans un premier temps au camp de vacances d’Onville (1939) avec les architectes Jacques et Michel André. La même année une commande de la Vème et VIème armée confirme la justesse de la proposition technique : l’armature extérieure constituée de piliers en tôle d’acier pliée effilés est complétée par des profilés en acier formant la rigidité de l’ensemble, des tôles couvrent le bâtiment et des panneaux de bardage en bois assurent la finition des parois. Un module suivant ce principe est expédié à Issoire, dessiné par Jeanneret pour servir de poste de garde, il sera finalement utilisé comme cabane pour les jardins ouvriers.

Le second système développe une structure plus complexe à portique axial placé à l’intérieur du bâtiment afin de supporter les poutres de faitage. Le modèle déposé en février 1939, avait été également envisagé dès 1938. Sur le chantier de la SCAL il est adapté et repensé par Pierre Jeanneret dans ses volumes et ses combinaisons, pour s’adapter aux besoins. Le principe repose sur une structure métallique porteuse en « V inversé ». Le bâtiment à usage de bureaux et d’atelier de dessin, se déploie sur deux niveaux en mars 1940, le club pour les ingénieurs est monté quelques mois plus tard. Les trois pavillons pour les chambres, ainsi que l’infirmerie et le dispensaire proposent une variation structurelle avec des portiques en « U inversé ».

La défaite de Juin 1940, met un coup d’arrêt au chantier. Charlotte Perriand appelée au Japon en mission, part de Marseille le 15 juin 1940 et ne revient qu’en 1946. Pierre Jeanneret après un séjour dans les Pyrénées, retrouve Georges Blanchon qui crée le BCC (Bureau Central de Construction) à Grenoble, pour poursuivre le chantier d’Issoire. Nancy se trouvant en zone occupée, Jean Prouvé éprouve des difficultés pour répondre aux engagements. L’acier pour les structures manque, il compensera pour les commandes suivantes avec des parois, une structure porteuse et des portiques en bois (1942). Les contraintes de rationnement et les difficultés n’altèrent pas leur enthousiasme et leur foi dans le projet, ils inventent les solutions.

Le projet d’Issoire permet de confirmer la justesse de l’industrialisation des éléments d’architecture et d’établir de façon innovante le principe de préfabrication. L’équipe Jeanneret Prouvé a fait la démonstration de l’importance d’une collaboration étroite entre l’architecte et le constructeur, pour développer des projets à la fois pratiques, esthétiques et économiques. Un pressentiment génial, à la veille d’une période où le besoin en urgence de logements, s’est fait cruellement sentir. Ce geste architectural avant-gardiste sur le terrain de la SCAL à Issoire, suffira cependant, à retenir l’attention des autorités en charge de la reconstruction au lendemain de la guerre.

Cette aventure humaine et technique, demeure gravée comme une étape fondatrice dans l’histoire de l’architecture moderne.

Anne Bony, mars 2015.