Chandigarh

Share

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

“Let this be a new city, unfettered by the traditions of the past, a symbol of the nation’s future“
Nehru

Chandigarh, this city now resonates familiarly with Design lovers, and other enthusiasts of the history of 20th century architecture. It is a work of a lifetime, an exceptional collaboration between talented architects, which still marks the spirits, the one which – beyond a futuristic, intelligent and aesthetic vision – will impact the codes of furnishing, and will become the icon of today’s interiors.

Pierre Jeanneret et Le Corbusier, 1955, Chandigarh, par Jeet Malhotra, © Fond Le Corbusier, ADAGP

It all started in 1947, when Charles-Édouard Jeanneret, better known under the name of Le Corbusier, was called by Nehru, the first “Indian Prime Minister” who wanted to offer to the Punjab region a real capital worthy of the name. India’s independence divides the Punjab into two parts, Indian and Pakistani. Lahore being lost to Pakistan, the Indian Punjab is forced to create a new one, ex nihilo. The site of Chandigarh, at the foot of the Himalayas, is chosen, and Nehru wants the most modern in terms of construction, to testify to India’s renewed vitality.

Le Corbusier knew Switzerland, where he was born, as well as France, where he was based, but never had the opportunity to work alongside such a different population, in a territory with new geographical and thermal constraints. If the difficulty of building a city without a foundation is very real, it allows to Le Corbusier to work in a more “virgin” context and to take advantage of all the local knowledge and Indian traditions already in place.

Appointed in 1950 as official architect in charge of the overall plan of the city, he was then joined by Pierre Jeanneret, E. Maxwell Fry and Jane B. Drew.

« Chandigarh is still a living laboratory, Le Corbusier’s influence is still felt in its development ».

Haute Cour de Justice de Chandigarh, par Lucien Hervé, 1955 © Lucien Hervé, FLC, ADAGP

Chandigarh stands out for its totally extraordinary architecture. It is divided into sixty sectors, themselves segmented by traffic lanes into “levels”, in order to make circulation more fluid.

« Plan de la nouvelle capitale du Pendjab » © Fond Le Corbusier / ADAGP

Beyond the overall town planning of the city, Le Corbusier greatest achievements are the Capitol, the Assembly and the Palais de Justice. So many buildings illustrating the power and importance of an Indian administration reflecting a modern society, desired by Nehru.

« Finally, the architect, the town planner, the painter and the sculptor gave birth to poetry here » wrote Le Corbusier in a letter to his mother.

If the city imagined by Le Corbusier was initially planned for 500,000 inhabitants, it now has more than two million.

Maquettistes travaillant sur le projet du Capitole, vers 1960. Photographie de Pierre Jeanneret © Fond d’archives de Pierre Jeanneret, collection CCA

© Manuel Bougot, Voyage à Chandigarh, Ed. du Patrimone, 2018
© FLC / ADAGP
Le Corbusier et André Malraux, Chandigarh, 1958 © FLC / ADAGP

Le Corbusier showing André Malraux the site of Chandigarh during his trip there in December 1958. The same one who said in 1965, during Le Corbusier funeral oration:

« The Greek architects, with deep sadness, decide to delegate their president to the funeral of Le Corbusier to deposit the land of the Acropolis on his grave. ».

« India, where many of Le Corbusier’s masterpieces are to be found, and the capital he built: Chandigarh, will pour on its ashes the water of the Ganges, as a supreme tribute ».

PIERRE JEANNERET & CHANDIGARH

Fruit of a symbiosis between town planning, architecture and design, Chandigarh will be an opportunity for Pierre Jeanneret to design furniture for public buildings but also for private residences.

Graduated from the Geneva School of Fine Arts, his collaboration during his young years as an architect with Auguste and Charles Perret in Paris, in the 1920s, quickly gave him this modernist ideal and this desire for a striking architecture. He then began to work with Le Corbusier, and his role in his cousin’s projects was essential. It is in fact together that they publish this now founding manifesto, « Five Points Towards a New Architecture » (1926). Villa Savoye (Poissy, France) will also be the perfect illustration of this ideology. The arrival of Charlotte Perriand at Le Corbusier’s studio then marks the start of a particularly fruitful period for this emblematic trio of French design.

Fernand Léger, Charlotte Perriand, Le Corbusier, Albert Jeanneret, Pierre Jeanneret, Matila Ghyka à Athène, 1933 © Archives Charlotte Perriand

This Chandigarh mission is also a global work, with 4 hands. The two companions, complementary, put together their knowledge and their unique vision of a modern city. Pierre Jeanneret will remain on site for almost 15 years to follow the site closely, whilst Le Corbusier makes many round trips. A very rich correspondence between the two men testifies their intellectual proximity and their prolific collaboration in terms of architecture and furniture.
Much more than his collaborators, Jeanneret quickly takes into consideration the Indian point of view and local preferences are particularly close to his heart. He wishes to create in communion with the country and its own rituals.

The climate issue is essential: hot and humid. He will also develop a climate grid to optimize the comfort of residents. Pierre Jeanneret observes precisely the habits and customs of the inhabitants, but also their lifestyles, their daily concerns. Because of his friendship with some Indians, and his recognized openness, he adapts his theoretical knowledge perfectly to the field. Pierre Jeanneret and Le Corbusier also had to pay attention to production costs, and for that, decided to use local materials, such as teak for furniture (or concrete for construction), carefully avoiding any importation of foreign raw materials.

Each piece designed by Jeanneret illustrates the influence of India on his talent. He constantly emphasizes exotic wood species through his furniture. He observes ancestral caning techniques, learns their know-how from the Indians, makes them work for him, with him, in all his achievements. Geometry becomes a recurring motif, as does the association of teak and cane.

More discreet and introverted than his cousin, he is what we call a « shadow man ».
Jean Prouvé writes about his friend: « Nothing would have made Pierre Jeanneret more uncomfortable than knowing that one could once write about him ».

« I think Pierre was too overshadowed by his giant cousin, Corbu. For my part, I have always considered him to be one of the most reliable guides in contemporary architecture, full of talent and with ideas of his own » said Walter Gropius

© FLC / ADAGP

« With the simplest means, he timidly proposed wonders »
Jean Prouvé

Everything is thought out according to the destiny of the furniture. The achievements for administrative buildings are designed to optimize the storage and efficiency of officials. Domestic furniture will be designed for more comfort. Jeanneret combines modernity, inventiveness and tradition.

Library table, ca. 1965 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
Kangaroo chair, ca. 1955 / Boomerang table, ca. 1960 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
Boomerang table, ca. 1960 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
Office armchair, ca. 1955 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
Library chairs, ca. 1955 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
© Jean-Claude Figenwald

Originally pedestrian, the Capitol esplanade quickly turned into a parking lot for official judges’ cars! The majestic High Court of Justice impresses with its symmetrical silhouette and its elliptical staircase leading to the passageways. The childish colors of green, yellow and red – emblematic of the architect’s palette – contrast with the geometric severity of the building. Shapes that will always find echoes in the furniture of Pierre Jeanneret.

Base-building, ca. 1955 © Laffanour – Galerie Downtown
© Jean-Claude Figenwald
Base-building, ca. 1955 @ Laffanour – Galerie Downtown

PIERRE JEANNERET & PRIVATE COLLECTIONS

Collection Privée, Belgique
Collection Privée, UK

Chandigarh: an eternal adventure… !

© FLC / ADAGP

SAVE THE DATE

JEANNERET | CHANDIGARH
1955 – 1965

17 septembre – 31 octobre 2020

Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour
18 rue de Seine
75006

© since 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

Subscribe to the newsletter

To receive the Laffanour-Downtown Gallery newsletter, please use the contact form below.

Chandigarh

Partager

Partager sur email
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp

« Qu’elle soit une ville nouvelle, symbole de l’indépendance de l’Inde, libérée des traditions du passé – l’expression de l’espérance nationale pour le futur »
Nehru

Chandigarh, ce nom résonne désormais désormais familièrement chez les amateurs de Design, et autres passionnés de l’histoire de l’architecture du XXème siècle. Il s’agit de l’œuvre d’une vie, d’une collaboration exceptionnelle entre architectes talentueux, qui marque encore et toujours les esprits, celle qui – au-delà d’une vision futuriste, intelligente et esthétique – bouleversera les codes de l’ameublement, et deviendra l’icône des intérieurs d’aujourd’hui.

Pierre Jeanneret et Le Corbusier, 1955, Chandigarh, par Jeet Malhotra, © Fond Le Corbusier, ADAGP

Tout commence en 1947, lorsque Charles-Édouard Jeanneret, plus connu sous le nom de Le Corbusier, est appelé par Nehru, le premier « Premier Ministre Indien » qui souhaite offrir au Pendjab une capitale digne de ce nom. L’indépendance de l’Inde divise en effet le Pendjab en deux parties, indienne et pakistanaise. Lahore étant perdue au profit du Pakistan, le Pendjab indien est dans l’obligation d’en créer une nouvelle, ex nihilo. Le site de Chandigarh, au pied de l’Himalaya, est choisi, et Nehru souhaite alors ce qu’il y a de plus moderne en termes de construction, pour témoigner de la vitalité de l’Inde.

Le Corbusier connaissait la Suisse, où il est né, ainsi que la France, où il était installé, mais n’avait jamais eu l’occasion de travailler aux côtés d’une population différente, sur un territoire aux contraintes géographiques et thermiques nouvelles. Si la difficulté de construire une ville sans véritable base est bien réelle, cela lui permet de travailler dans un contexte plus « vierge » et de tirer parti de tous les savoirs locaux, et des traditions indiennes déjà en place.

Nommé en 1950 architecte officiel en charge du plan d’ensemble de la ville, il est alors rejoint par Pierre Jeanneret, E. Maxwell Fry et Jane B. Drew.

« Chandigarh est toujours un laboratoire vivant, l’influence de Le Corbusier se ressent encore dans son développement ».

Haute_Cour de Justice de Chandigarh, par Lucien Hervé, 1955 © Lucien Hervé, FLC, ADAGP
Chandigarh se démarque par son architecture totalement hors-norme. Elle est divisée en soixante secteurs, eux-mêmes segmentés par des voies de circulation en « niveaux », visant à fluidifier le trafic.
« Plan de la nouvelle capitale du Pendjab » © Fond Le Corbusier / ADAGP

Au delà de l’urbanisme global de la ville, les plus grandes réalisations de Le Corbusier sont le Capitole, l’Assemblée et le Palais de Justice. Autant de bâtiments illustrant le pouvoir et l’importance d’une administration indienne se voulant le reflet d’une société moderne souhaitée par Nehru. Si la ville imaginée par Le Corbusier était initialement prévue pour 500 000 habitants, elle en compte aujourd’hui plus de deux millions.

« Enfin, l’architecte, l’urbaniste, le peintre et le sculpteur ont accouché ici de poésie » écrit Le Corbusier dans une lettre à sa mère.

Si la ville imaginée par Le Corbusier était initialement prévue pour 500 000 habitants, elle en compte aujourd’hui plus de deux millions.

Le Corbusier faisant visiter le site de Chandigarh à André Malraux, lors de son voyage là bas en décembre 1958. Celui-là même qui affirmait en 1965, lors de son oraison funèbre :

« Les architectes grecs, avec une profonde tristesse, décident de déléguer leur président aux obsèques de Le Corbusier pour déposer sur sa tombe de la terre de l’Acropole ».

« L’Inde, où se trouvent plusieurs des chefs d’œuvre de Le Corbusier, et la capitale qu’il a construite : Chandigarh, viendra verser sur ses cendres l’eau du Gange, en suprême hommage ».

PIERRE JEANNERET & CHANDIGARH

Fruit d’une symbiose entre urbanisme, architecture et design, Chandigarh sera l’occasion pour Pierre Jeanneret de penser le mobilier des bâtiments publics mais aussi les habitations privées.

Diplômé de l’Ecole des beaux-arts de Genève, sa collaboration au cours de ses jeunes années d’architecte avec Auguste et Charles Perret à Paris, dans les années 1920, lui confère rapidement cet idéal moderniste et cette envie d’une architecture marquante. Il commence ensuite à travailler avec Le Corbusier, et son rôle dans les projets de son cousin est essentiel. C’est d’ailleurs ensemble qu’ils éditent ce manifeste aujourd’hui fondateur, « Cinq points vers une Nouvelle architecture » (1926). La villa Savoye (Poissy, France) sera d’ailleurs l’illustration parfaite de cette idéologie. L’arrivée de Charlotte Perriand au studio de Le Corbusier marque ensuite le début d’une période particulièrement fructueuse pour ce trio désormais emblématique du design français.

Fernand Léger, Charlotte Perriand, Le Corbusier, Albert Jeanneret, Pierre Jeanneret, Matila Ghyka à Athène, 1933 © Archives Charlotte Perriand

Cette mission de Chandigarh est également un travail global, à 4 mains. Les deux compères, complémentaires, mettent à profit ensemble leur savoir-faire et leur vision si particulière de la ville moderne. Pierre Jeanneret restera sur place près de 15 ans pour suivre le chantier de près, quand Le Corbusier fait de nombreux aller-retours. Une très riche correspondance entre les deux hommes témoigne de leur proximité intellectuelle et de leur collaboration prolifique en termes d’architecture et de mobilier.
Beaucoup plus que ses collaborateurs, Jeanneret se place très vite du point de vue indien et les considérations locales lui tiennent particulièrement à cœur. Il souhaite créer en communion avec le pays et ses rituels propre.

La question du climat est essentielle : chaud et humide. Il mettra d’ailleurs au point une grille climatique pour optimiser le confort des habitants. Pierre Jeanneret observe précisément les us et coutumes des habitants, mais également leurs modes de vie, leurs préoccupations quotidiennes. Du fait de son amitié avec certains Indiens, et son ouverture d’esprit reconnue, il adapte parfaitement ses connaissances théoriques au terrain. Pierre Jeanneret et Le Corbusier ont également dû faire attention aux couts de production, et pour cela, ont décidé d’utiliser les matériaux locaux, tels que le teck pour le mobilier (ou le béton pour la construction), en évitant soigneusement toute importation de matières premières étrangères.

Chaque pièce dessinée par Jeanneret illustre l’influence de l’Inde sur son talent. Il n’a de cesse de mettre en valeur les essences de bois exotiques au travers de son moblier. Il observe les techniques de cannage ancestrales, apprend des indiens leur savoir-faire, les fait travailler pour lui, avec lui, dans toutes ses réalisations. La géométrie devient ensuite un motif récurrent, tout comme l’association du teck et du cannage.

Plus discret et introverti que son cousin, il est ce qu’on appelle un « homme de l’ombre ». Jean Prouvé écrit d’ailleurs à propos de son ami :

« Rien n’aurait mis Pierre Jeanneret plus mal à l’aise que de savoir qu’on pourrait écrire à son sujet »

« Je crois que Pierre était trop éclipsé par son cousin géant, Corbu. Pour ma part, je l’ai toujours considéré comme un des guides les plus sûrs de l’architecture contemporaine, plein de talent et avec des idées bien à lui »

Walter Gropius

© FLC / ADAGP

« Avec les moyens les plus simples, il proposait timidement des merveilles »
Jean Prouvé

Tout est pensé en fonction de la destinée du meuble. Les réalisations pour les bâtiments administratifs sont conçues pour optimiser le rangement et l’efficacité des fonctionnaires. Le mobilier domestique sera quant à lui pensé pour plus de confort. Jeanneret conjugue modernité, inventivité et tradition.

A l’origine piétonne, l’esplanade du Capitole s’est rapidement transformée en parking pour les voitures officielles des juges ! La majestueuse Haute-Cour de Justice impressionne par sa silhouette symétrique et par son escalier en ellipse desservant les coursives. Les couleurs enfantines verte, jaune et rouge – emblématique de la palette de l’architecte – tranche avec la sévérité géométrique du bâtiment. Formes qui trouveront échos, toujours, dans le mobilier de Pierre Jeanneret.

Originally pedestrian, the Capitol esplanade quickly turned into a parking lot for official judges’ cars! The majestic High Court of Justice impresses with its symmetrical silhouette and its elliptical staircase leading to the passageways. The childish colors of green, yellow and red – emblematic of the architect’s palette – contrast with the geometric severity of the building. Shapes that will always find echoes in the furniture of Pierre Jeanneret.

PIERRE JEANNERET & COLLECTIONS PRIVÉES

Collection Privée, Belgique

Collection Privée, UK

Chandigarh : une aventure éternelle… !

© FLC / ADAGP

© depuis 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

Demande de renseignements : Chandigarh

Inscription à la newsletter

Pour recevoir la newsletter de la galerie Laffanour-Downtown, merci d’utiliser le formulaire de contact ci-dessous.